About Us

Yoga Yamas was established by Karen Trigg, a qualified yoga teacher, who found it difficult to buy good quality, ethically sourced yoga wear with simple, meaningful designs.

Why ‘Yoga Yamas’?

Within yoga philosophy a significant text, ‘The Yoga Sutra of Patanjali’ sets out the eightfold path of Raja (royal) yoga. Although these 8 limbs of yoga may not strictly be followed in order, they help us on our journey towards freedom.

The 8 limbs of yoga:

For many of us, our path begins with practising asana (postures) and perhaps pranayama (breath control), which in turn help us to improve relations with ourselves and others.

The 5 Yama:

Yama is the first of the eight limbs of yoga. The yama can be considered as self-restraints and they particularly concern our actions and attitudes towards others and the world around us, although we should not exclude our relationship with ourselves.

Ahimsa: Non-violence. This is having respect and compassion for all beings and refraining from using violence through our thoughts, words and actions. In relation to our own yoga practice this can be thought of as not causing harm to ourselves by forcing our bodies during asana or pranayama.

Satya: Truthfulness. This is being truthful and honest in all that we say and do. Within our own yoga practice we should listen to our body and be honest about our limitations.

Asteya: Non-stealing. This is respecting what belongs to others, including ideas as well as material possessions, and not stealing them for ourselves. This is often extended to not desiring or coveting what belongs to another person.

Brahmacharya: Continence and control. This does not necessarily mean celibacy or abstinence, but rather using our life force wisely and channelling it towards our yogic path. This yama is also often seen as moderation.

Aparigraha: Non-greed. This is not only living without greed, but also not seeking to accumulate unnecessary possessions or gifts.

If you would like to explore the eight limbs of yoga in more detail, I particularly like the following interpretations of the Yoga Sutra of Patanjali:

‘The Heart of Yoga’, T.K.V. Desikachar
‘The Essence of Yoga.’ Reflections on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali', Bernard Bouanchaud
‘Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali’, BKS Iyengar